LEED Certification

What is LEED Certification?

LEED or Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design is the most internationally recognized green building certification system. Its objective is to promote and reward sustainable designs by improving the profitability of companies and the well-being of its employees. It provides third-party verification for buildings and communities designed and built using strategies aimed at improving energy savings, water efficiency, reductions in carbon dioxide emissions, improved indoor environmental quality, and stewardship of resources.

SUMAC is one of the major LEED Consultant in South America.

Torre 6 edificio de oficinas

The objective of sustainable construction is to establish, regulate, promote and increase sustainability.  Since its launch in 1994, LEED has become the standard certification in sustainability. It encourages professionals in all industries to step up their green role; real estate professionals, facility managers, engineers, interior designers, landscape architects, construction managers, private sector executives, and government officials.

What are the LEED certification levels?

SUMAC can help you obtain any of the four levels of LEED certification:

40-49 Points

50-59 Points

60-79 Points

80-110 Points

LEED categories

LEED groups its requirements in the following categories:

Integrative process
Materials and resources
Energy and atmosphere
Indoor environmental quality
Innovation in design
Water efficiency
Sustainable sites
Regional priority
Location and transportation

What are the benefits of being LEED certified?

  • Reduced energy and water usage
  • Lower operating costs
  • Less construction waste
  • Reduced liability
  • More durable buildings
  • Supports the local economy
  • Greater resale value
  • Improved indoor air quality
  • Increased employee productivity
  • Better public image

Learn more about working with SUMAC. Contact us